With ₹4.4 L net worth, Sadhvi Pragya Thakur among 3 poorest Lok Sabha MPs


Malegaon blast case accused and Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Sadhvi Pragya Thakur is among the poorest Lok Sabha members of parliament, according to an analysis by election watchdog, Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR).

Thakur, who wasn’t given a ticket by the saffron party for the Lok Sabha elections 2024, has declared assets worth 4.4 Lakh, the ADR analysis said. She is the third poorest MP in the outgoing parliament. Thakur won in 2019 from Bhopal seat in Madhya Pradesh. 

Thakur, accused in the 2008 Malegaon blast case has often courted controversies with her statements. In 2019, her debut attempt, Thakur defeated veteran Congress leader Digvijaya Singh by a margin of 3.65 lakh votes.

Also Read: 9 of 25 billionaire sitting MPs are from BJP; Check which party has the most affluent leaders

In her affidavit filed in the run up to Lok Sabha elections 2019, Thakur had mentioned a silver-coated brick that had Ram engraved on it. BJP had then said that the brick was meant for the construction of the Ram Mandir at Ayodhya in Uttar Pradesh, which was eventually inaugurated in January this year.

This time, Thakur has been replaced by Alok Sharma, a former mayor, for the Lok Sabha elections.

Poorest MP has 1.4 lakhs

YSRCP leader Goddeti Madhavi, who is an MP from Araku in Andhra Pradesh is the poorest of all Lok Sabha members. She has declared assets worth 1.4 lakhs. Madhavi is followed by Chandrani Murmu, BJD MP from Koenjhar with declared assets worth 3. 4 Lakh.

At 25, Murmu, a BTech graduate had in 2019 become the youngest ever Lok Sabha MP by defeating two-time MP Ananta Nayak from the reserved Keonjhar seat in Odisha.

Interestingly, all three poorest Lok Sabha MPs are women, according to the ADR analysis. The analysis was released on March 28, two days after the Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman said she cannot afford to contest elections.

20.71 crores average asset of an LS MP

According to the ADR, the average assets per sitting MP for Lok Sabha 2019 elections are 20.71 crore.

Also Read: FM Nirmala Sitharaman has no money to contest Lok Sabha polls: Here’s how much it costs to fight elections in India

While the poorest MP has less than 2 lakh net worth, the richest, Congress’ Nakul Nath, had declared assets worth 660 crore in 2019. Five years later, Nakul’s net worth has crossed 700 crore.

Among poorest Rajya Sabha MPs, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Balbir Singh is the poorest with assets worth 3.72 lakh, ADR said last year. Singh is followed by BJP’s Maharaja Sanajaoba Leishemba from Manipur who has assets worth 5.48 lakh and jailed MP of AAP Sanjay Singh who has declared assets worth 6.60 lakh.

Unlock a world of Benefits! From insightful newsletters to real-time stock tracking, breaking news and a personalized newsfeed – it’s all here, just a click away! Login Now!

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Published: 29 Mar 2024, 06:17 PM IST


Source link

Back to top button